Meet Our Team - Lizzie Lengling

by Lizzie Lengling March 30, 2020 2 min read

Meet Our Team - Lizzie Lengling

Hi everyone, I’m Lizzie and you’ve probably seen me pop up as a (very amateur) “model” on our social media pages and website from time to time. You’ll probably be seeing some more of me so I thought a proper introduction was in order.

I’m a horse girl through and through and grew up in Wisconsin riding anything and everything I could get my hands on (thanks Mom for supporting and sharing this crazy passion with me). I was the typical barn rat who craved to learn everything she possibly could.

This desire led me to The University of Findlay where I graduated in 2019 with a B.S. in Business Management, and an A.A. in English Equestrian Studies. Findlay was an incredible experience where I got to ride probably the highest caliber horses that I ever will in my lifetime. College equestrian programs are a great way to continue riding through school but I highly recommend supplementing it with a business program as well (you can never be too business savvy in this industry)!

Being a part of Findlay’s IHSA hunt seat team awarded me with some insanely cool accomplishments and memories. One of the biggest having been, competing at the 2016 IHSA Nationals where I helped my team to a 3rd place finish out of the entire country and got to show in the Alltech Arena (cue the fangirling, I felt like I was at Maclay Finals). But if I’m being honest, my proudest accomplishment from IHSA is just the fact that I can now canter around a course in the show ring without wanting to cry or throw up!

After graduation, I packed up, moved to the mountains, combined my love of horses with my business degree and came to work at The Farm House! Nowadays, I’ve hung up my show clothes (for the time being) and just enjoy bopping around with my horses. You'll often find me in one of my Tailored Sportsman 1/4 zip sun shirts, I'm obsessed with them! I'm also slightly addicted to my Roeckl gloves, they are so comfortable, I can't ride without them!

I am so lucky to have two of the greatest ponies in the world. Roo is a 27-year-old Hanoverian who lives the retired life with my mom back in Wisconsin and Mira is a 10-year-old AQHA mare who is my current partner in crime. Her favorite piece of equipment would have to be her Thinline pad. We use it every day and she loves it.  I’ve had her since she was 3 and we enjoy galivanting around Western North Carolina and participating in as many shenanigans as we can. Who knows what we will be doing next.

                           

So that’s me in a nutshell, I’m just a horse girl like y’all, who can’t wait to see what the future holds for her!


Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.


Also in Barn Blog

Riders wearing RJ Classics breeches
R.J. Classics Breeches: Size, Fit, and Style Guide

by Michelle Drum September 10, 2021 5 min read

If you’re looking for your next favorite pair of breeches, you won’t go wrong choosing R.J Classics. We dive into R.J Classics breeches, sizing, fit and popular styles.
Horse in a fall pasture
The Equestrian's Guide To Outerwear

by Lizzie Lengling September 01, 2021 5 min read

Let’s face it… riding in the colder months is not that enjoyable at times. Between the wet, and the cold, and the snow, and the wind… need I go on? But after years of braving Midwest winters, I’ve found the secret to surviving these somewhat dreaded months! It all comes down to proper clothing...

Hurricane Evacuation for Horses
Equine Evacuation - 5 Things To Know

by Michelle Drum September 01, 2021 3 min read

As we head into September, we head into peak Hurricane season for the South Eastern Coast of the United States. Hurricanes may seem stressful, especially when you have your four legged friends to think about, but the key to just be prepared.